wherethesunisalwayshining

sprinkling positivity

The minds belief system

on February 23, 2015

So many of us have certain beliefs – most that we inherit from our parents, family,friends or society in general.

We don’t question these beliefs because we never realized that we inherited them in the first place.

To most of us our beliefs are just normal/habitual, we’ve never questioned as to why we believe them, or even if we do.

For example –

I grew up with the belief that people go to school, college and then get a job in that specific field and they’re sorted for life.

Imagine the panic when I didn’t know what I wanted to do after dropping out of uni and had a complete change of interest.

I felt anxious that my life was out of control, I was a failure, I was a disappointment, I wasn’t good enough. – All of these negative thoughts became my beliefs about who I was, which I carried into many areas of my life.

I never even realized I’d grown up with this belief, nobody had said such a thing to me directly, I simply picked it up from what is expected by society these days, Its what my parents did and it seemed to be the norm thing to do.

Then it struck me – DO I EVEN BELIEVE THAT I MUST GO TO SCHOOL,COLLEGE,GET A JOB AND THAT’S IT FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE? IS THAT WHAT WILL MAKE ME HAPPY?

The great feeling of realizing that no, i don’t believe that’s the only option in life.

I have never been decisive and I like variety, therefore I don’t ever see myself sticking to one specific job title for my life. I see myself doing lots of different things – which isn’t as safe as having a plan of what I want to do but I have to accept that’s me and life changes whether you have plans or not.

Being able to observe your mind (with time) reveals your beliefs and you can also observe these and question them.

Yesterday a man came up to me who explained he was just having a few beers with some friends

I said to him – how come you’re having drinks at midday, bit early isn’t it.

I was so grateful for his reply

‘what’s the difference between drinking at midday to drinking at night, i just go to bed early and sleep so i don’t have  hangover the next morning’.

This is a very small impact on my life but I realized I carried the belief that its more acceptable for people to drink alcohol at night time. Why? I have no idea why i believe this, its something i grew up with and never questioned. Probably because society portrays day drinkers as alcoholics or people who stay out and create havoc (some may be but this cant apply for everyone).

Anyway, now I’m rambling. I hope this post helps people with identifying their beliefs.

happy belief hunting 🙂

Leave a Reply

