wherethesunisalwayshining

sprinkling positivity

The mind and body connection

on February 24, 2015

Most of us are pretty aware that there’s a connection between our mind and bodies, our mind controls our speech, tells our limbs to move and keeps the body functioning.

However most of us don’t see how our mental health links to our physical health.

Most people who have physical pains/aches in their bodies assume its from injury or something they’ve done. The truth is it could be exactly that, or it could be a symptom of an underlying issue you have in your mind. 

Our minds are connected to our bodies, our feelings and emotions can connect with our limbs and organs. When we’re stressed it can cause constipation, when we’re excited it can cause our hearts to race etc. 

So perhaps you have back ache, chest pain or uncomfortable sensations in your feet – but you cant think of anything you’ve done to cause this (no injury,fall etc). This is for us to realise that sometimes it can be an unconscious thought,feeling or emotion that is causing tension or a blockage in our bodies which then causes aches and pains.

For example – this time last year I was told I had a severe anxiety disorder. Whenever I got stressed or worried I would have a tight heavy sensation in my chest and find it difficult to breathe, another symptom was a tight heavy pain under my left shoulder blade – it felt like there was an object there. So now I know that this pain is caused by underlying problems in my mind, worries or stresses –

Now I use this to my advantage as whenever I feel tight chested or the pain in my left shoulder (It comes back in the same spot over and over again) – It gives me the sign that I need to work on something emotionally because Im out of balance and then when I get to the root of the problem – the pain goes away. And it only comes back again when a new situation arises.

Sometimes we have to accept pain – its uncomfortable but instead of resisting it, if we allow it, accept it, feel it and question what is the deep root of the problem thats causing it – that’s when it will pass through us. 

Like I mentioned at the start, this may not be for all cases but if you find yourself in pain, aching or uncomfortable sensations; question how you’re feeling mentally. Our physical and mental health work together.

Hope this helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

