wherethesunisalwayshining

sprinkling positivity

Accepting the present moment and becoming aware of the ego resisting it

on March 29, 2015

Yesterday I was questioning my feelings over something. I had shared a lovely day with someone who I really connected with. In my rational mind I knew this was the only day we’d spend together and whilst travelling I agreed with myself it would be best not to continue messaging etc afterwards because that’s how relationships gets complicated. I felt happy and accepted that I had a wonderful day and to keep it that way. Yet a small part of my ego wanted more though, just a goodbye message etc. Yet I knew a goodbye message wouldn’t be enough and I’d want others – this would complicate things and develop attachment.

So I began to question why did my ego want this message? I wanted proof that this had been a special day. My ego wanted to be special. Although I knew it deep down, my ego wanted the clarification and the drama. My true self wanted peace, acceptance and happy memories to leave things as they had been perfect.

By wanting more than what was happening in the present moment I was creating suffering and unhappiness. The ego always wants more, seeks drama and attachment and will want to be special. It was very interesting to observe this going on in my mind whilst I knew deep within myself that the better choice I had was to be content with the present moment. To flow freely and accept I’d met this person and we had created lovely memories. I didn’t truly want attachment or feelings to grow as this would only add drama to my life, I want to be free.

Many of us aren’t aware when the ego seeks attachment and I wasn’t aware until days later. The ego always wants more than what the present moment gives, therefore we feel discontent, unhappiness and focus on what we don’t have or what we wish we could have. Although sometimes we’re caught up in the ego and by taking a step back in reality we realise that’s not what we want at all. It’s very interesting, so next time you find yourselves feeling like you want something more, question why that is. Is that you or is just your ego? Everything happens for a reason so accepting that some things happen and others don’t, it’s all for a reason.

🙂

Leave a Reply

