wherethesunisalwayshining

sprinkling positivity

The purpose of personal development and growth

on June 8, 2015

I practise personal growth and want to grow as a person. What does that actually mean? (No I’m not hoping il get taller 😉 ). It means I am open to change, to learn and develop to become the person I want to be.

The great thing is we can all become the people we want to be – the best person we possibly can, our true selves.

Through practising personal growth and development through self study and self observation, they bring awareness to your thoughts, feelings, words and actions towards yourself and others.

The interesting thing is that most of the time we have no idea what’s holsing us back in the sub conscious mind, it takes talking to people or reading something etc to awaken something within us to make us aware of a situation we want to change. Perhaps we are unaware that we are sometimes unkind, judgemental or dishonest – with self observation of the mind we can become aware of these traits that hold us back from being our true self, ou best self.

To grow also means to go through some challenges. Perhaps see life like a video game, you go through a challenge and have to change to get through level 1 and then something else comes up and you work in it again, uncovering all these layers of yourself so you can be whoever you choose to be.

I am not saying you’re not you now, I am myself now but I know there’s always space for growth, in us all. And it’s exciting – to develop and know there’s always things within us we can change to be happier.

For example – the past few months have been pretty easy going for me but in a sense I’ve felt a bit stuck. I’ve not had anything new come up for me to work on but all in good time I ended up randomly speaking to a woman my age who was so comfortable with being in her own skin, really accepting who she was and her body and being open to expressing that. I found myself upset and in awe – I want to have that freedom of knowing how amazing my body is and how to really let go of any misconceptions. It was relief for me to cry and see this is something I want to change – somewhere for me to develop and grow so I can be free and more towards the person I want to be.

Personal growth is being content with what you have now but being open to more , being open to change. Start with bringing awareness to yourself and you will change your whole life to become the best version of yourself, to know you can change and be whoever you want to be at any moment in life.

Leave a Reply

